18-35 Segment 1: The Use of Polygraph Machines

VP 18-35A WordPress

 

We have all heard of polygraph machines or ‘lie detectors.’ But are they truly reliable? Their results are inadmissible in court and yet some investigation agencies still use them. We talk to historian and author John Philipp Baesler about the polygraph’s history and its questionable use in our modern world.

Guest:

  • John Philipp Baesler, Professor of history, Saginaw Valley State University and author, Clearer Than Truth: The polygraph and the American Cold War

Links for more information:

Share this:

Stay in the loop! Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook! Subscribe and review on iTunes!

18-35 Segment 2: How One Couple Confronted a Mental Health Crisis

88b40176-b93f-4f22-8eae-1385f20480be (3)

 

One morning without warning, Giulia Lukach experienced a psychotic break. We talk to her husband Mark about Gulia’s journey, his own experience as a caregiver, and how they overcame three stints in a psych ward.

Guest:

  • Mark Lukach, author, My Lovely Wife in the Psych Ward

Links for more information:

Share this:

Stay in the loop! Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook! Subscribe and review on iTunes!

Culture Crash 18-35: TV Revivals

Culture Crash Logo

 

Welcome to Culture Crash, where we examine American culture. What’s new and old in books, film, and entertainment.

In recent years, you’ve probably noticed a boom in TV revivals- old series brought back for new episodes. Fans of Gilmore Girls, Prison Break, Will and Grace, and more have all been gifted with new seasons and with reboots of Murphy Brown, Veronica Mars, and others in the works, this isn’t a trend that seems to be going anywhere.

Unfortunately, though, after a lot of hype, most revivals seem to fall flat. Gilmore Girls, NBC’s Heroes and even 24 have all made revivals that disappointed much of their core audience.

Probably the best example of a revival that worked- one that fans and critics alike raved over- was last year’s Twin Peaks revival on Showtime. That event series was deemed by many to be one of the best shows of 2017. And its success is largely because David Lynch and the Twin Peaks writing staff didn’t try to recreate the original show. They didn’t use old moments as a crutch, they didn’t give into fan-service, they just continued the story in the modern age. They struck a similar tone and ran with it.

Doing the opposite- giving in to fan service, can be an attractive temptation. Writers and creators can often feel lucky to have the opportunity to make more of their old project, and simply want to tie things up with a nice, neat bow. Everyone looks older, the will they or won’t they couples get back together, and they sign off. Hopefully, though, the Twin Peaks revival gave TV writers a new template- to give their characters new questions to answer and new struggles to grapple with. That can make our revival boom worth all the hype.

I’m Evan Rook.